Why I Know Wolves Aren’t Running Through Downtown Leadore, Eating Little Children at the Bus Stop

This past winter a big fat doe was killed on the county road in front of our property; a couple of immature bald eagles soon appeared and we were worried about them perhaps getting struck by a car as they tried to feed on the narrow right-of-way. So we dragged the carcass into the field out behind our yard. Unfortunately, the result was that a couple of coyotes appeared in broad daylight and that was it for the eagles. “Bastards,” they said to us as they retreated to the cottonwoods along the creek. “Why couldn’t you leave well enough alone?” But the coyotes, one of whom had an injured or crippled foreleg, were happy. I walked right up on this fellow by moving when he had his head buried in the carcass. The moral of the story is that if we had a pack of wolves in the vicinity, this fellow wouldn’t still be alive to stand around and eat venison in the daylight with a bad foot.

14 Responses to “Why I Know Wolves Aren’t Running Through Downtown Leadore, Eating Little Children at the Bus Stop”

  1. Rita K.Sharpe Says:

    Thank you for your post,louise,I enjoyed your little glimpse of where you live that you gave to me today.

  2. Nancy Says:

    Its like some awful man made “trickle down” effect Louise.

    Can’t begin to count the amount of times I’ve come across dead animals, from elk to hares, littering the roads or the sides of the roads and slowed down for flocks of magpies, eagles, ravens and crows, temporarily abandoning the carcass.
    This post by Mikarooni:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/wondermonkey/2011/04/unnatural-selection-what-is-ki.shtml

    Kind of sums up mankind’s lack of attention or concern when it comes to the welfare of other species.

    • william huard Says:

      Peter K posted a link the other day about the Florida panther. With around 100 left in So Florida, losing 23 in 1 year to car fatalities really makes you wonder. People are in a hurry to go nowhere fast, and they leave the destruction on the highways. I heard they want to increase the speed limit to 85 in FLA! That should help to kill a few more cougars

      • Salle Says:

        Yeah, not to mention the people they often hit, especially the “over 70 crowd”… I think that maybe all that humidity affects their brains.

        Around national parks I think that fresh air does affects their brains, if they had any to begin with.

        I have found in all my millions of miles of driving over the years that there are some “truths” about people’s driving habits that I have yet to find untrue:

        People are at their absolute worst when driving (this includes lack of consideration for others; a sudden sense of hubris; that the rules only apply to everyone else; there are no rules while on vacation or in national parks) and it is quite evident that their attitude is a problem.

        Most people only use their rear-view mirrors once every other Sunday whether they need to or not

        If you are in the front of a line of traffic, it doesn’t matter if anyone else is behind you…

        There are two pedals that mean either “go fast” or “stop”… (stop is to be used sparingly and if you must stop, it should only be for emergencies like when a police cruiser is following you with all lights flashing, sirens blaring)

        Turn signals are for sissies

        Just because you might be driving a new car does not automatically imply that your driving skills have improved with the upgrade

        And my favorite quip to driving skill impaired idiots proving themselves on the roadways within earshot, “Pay attention, you’ll live longer.”

        I hate it when wildlife die from motorist error ~ most wildlife deaths on the roadways are caused by inattentiveness on the part of the driver.

  3. Phil Says:

    Good for the coyotes, but bad for the eagles. Hopefully they will find something quickly. The past few years here in Michigan we have been seeing more and more dead carcasses moved to the sides of the freeways. In the past they would have been picked up by state poiceman, animal control, etc, but not recently. I was wondering why they were just being left there and one of the local Naturalists mentioned that certain areas are seeing an increase in Red-Tailed Hawk and Eagle populations, so they are moving the carcasses to the sides of the roads and letting the birds of prey and other scavengers consume them.

    • Dan Says:

      In my opinion, it is very rare to see a RTH scavenge…I have only seen it a couple of times living 39 years in the woods, fields and meadows of Northern Idaho. I did see a goshawk on a deer carcass once. Eagles, yes definitely.

      • Phil Says:

        Dan,
        We have two Red-Tailed Hawks living on top of the school I work at, and they frequently scavenge on dead squirrels. I remember one day driving to work early in the morning I saw something about 30 yards in front of me moving in quick fashion in circles, by the time I got close enough it was a very small squirrel (possibly a juvenille) who seemed like it was recently hit by a car. I pulled into the next cross-section and parked my car to the side. Got out of my car and ran to the squirrel, but by the time I got there it was to late. The most I could have done was move the body to the edge of the curb. By the time I got back in my car and continued driving to work, I looked in the rear-view mirror and saw one of (I guess it was one of the school’s RTH) landing by the carcass. It was an amazing sight, although saddening for the squirrel. I thought RTHs were only birds of prey that hunted, but I guess anything goes when it is necessary for survival.

  4. Tom Page Says:

    That’s one nasty sheep fence in the foreground of the picture…I don’t imagine that fawns can get over that thing.

  5. Ralph Maughan Says:

    I think Louise wrote her post with a big grin on her face. 😉

    • louise wagenknecht Says:

      There’s a big open gate just to the left, out of the picture, and we’re in the process of modifying the fence, since we don’t have sheep anymore.

  6. ProWolf in WY Says:

    I would say evidence that wolves have not overrun town is because a deer was hit by a car near there. Also, if most of the livestock are still around the wolves probably won’t resort to eating little children (in red hoods?) at bus stops just yet. The whole wolves being locusts and eating their entire food supply obviously hasn’t come true yet.

  7. ProWolf in WY Says:

    Unfortunately the sarcasm can’t be heard through writing.


Comments are closed.

